Upcoming Events

Book Club + Mixer

March 6- I CAN’T DATE JESUS- Michael Arceneaux

April 3- AMATEUR: A TRUE STORY ABOUT WHAT MAKES A MAN- Michael Page McBee

May 1- THE END OF EDDY- Louis Edouard

June 5- THE GREAT BELIEVERS- Rebecca Makkai

July 3- THE AIR YOU BREATHE- Frances De Pontes Peebles

August 7- WHAT BELONGS TO YOU- Garth Greenwell

Special Events

Book Of The Month

 

In the style of New York Times bestsellers You Can’t Touch My Hair, Bad Feminist, and I’m Judging You, a timely collection of alternately hysterical and soul‑searching essays about what it is like to grow up as a creative, sensitive black man in a world that constantly tries to deride and diminish your humanity.

It hasn’t been easy being Michael Arceneaux.

Equality for LGBT people has come a long way and all, but voices of persons of color within the community are still often silenced, and being black in America is…well, have you watched the news?

With the characteristic wit and candor that have made him one of today’s boldest writers on social issues, I Can’t Date Jesus is Michael Arceneaux’s impassioned, forthright, and refreshing look at minority life in today’s America. Leaving no bigoted or ignorant stone unturned, he describes his journey in learning to embrace his identity when the world told him to do the opposite.

He eloquently writes about coming out to his mother; growing up in Houston, Texas; that time his father asked if he was “funny” while shaking his hand; his obstacles in embracing intimacy; and the persistent challenges of young people who feel marginalized and denied the chance to pursue their dreams.

Perfect for fans of David Sedaris and Phoebe Robinson, I Can’t Date Jesus tells us—without apologies—what it’s like to be outspoken and brave in a divisive world. 

 

 

Outbook

Outbook is an LGBTQ book club and mixer! To join simply pick up and read our month’s selection. The join us the first Wed of each month at the Palm Springs Cultural Center (formally Camelot Theatres), upstairs in the VIP Lounge.  Mix and mingle with fellow club members at 6:00 p.m. Book discussion begins at 6:30 p.m. led by local book critic and columnist J. Corbett Holmes.

Borrow/ Buy

Outbook is supported by the Palm Springs Public Library; hardcopy; audio and ebooks are available through the library to borrow- first come, first served, as well as for purchase at book stores and online booksellers.

About

Outbook connects the LGBTQ community, and celebrates the joy and tradition of sharing our stories. It is a Palm Springs Cultural Center program in partnership with the Palm Springs Public Library, this monthly book club highlights a mix of LGBTQ new releases and influential classics.

James C. Holmes

“Although I now live in a coveted vacation destination, books have always been my favorite go to getaway”, says Jim Holmes, the founder of OutBook and former book reviewer at Desert Outlook Magazine. “And like a wonderful vacation, books are often better when shared.”  Holmes began his career designing for several New York and Los Angeles fashion houses—eventually breaking out on his own for several years before joining the design team at iconic toy manufacturer, Mattel.  “Yessss, it’s true…I used to design clothes for Barbie,” Holmes jokes. “To be sure, the gayest job I’ve ever had!” For nearly two decades Holmes worked in design on both the toy and licensing side—creating products for famed brands like Barbie, Hot Wheels, and Monster High, as well as collaborations with brands like Forever 21 and The Andy Warhol Foundation, to name a few. To expand his creative outlets, Holmes began writing and for many years penned the syndicated lifestyle column, Shavings from My Head–shiny thoughts from a bald guy. “I was once dubbed ‘the Fairy Bradshaw of West Hollywood’”, Holmes boasts with a snicker. “Creative people are observers. Whether you’re a writer or a designer….we notice everything. I just wrote about it publically.” The writing outlet eventually led to HomeBoy, “an L. A. based, gay-boy lifestyle column”, becoming the catalyst for Holmes to start his first book club. For the past five years, Holmes has written for Desert Outlook Magazine—reporting on a myriad of topics from fashion to current events—his desires eventually driving him to write about his favorite thing: books. After gathering support from The Palm Springs Public Library, Holmes joined forces with The Palm Springs Cultural Center to create the OutBook Book Club. “I wanted to create a social space for LGBTQ people to read and discuss current LGBTQ books and authors”, says Holmes.